Mia’s Miracle Part 2 – A Silver Lining!

I’m sure you’ve heard the saying, “every cloud has a silver lining” and I’m sure you’ve probably had your own share of clouds. Over the past years, I’ve learned that when the clouds come, it’s critical to control our thoughts and our speech. There is incredible power in our words and if we act and speak optimistically, even amidst the darkest clouds – we will find the silver lining.

“Your love is faithful, Lord, and even the clouds in the sky can depend on you.” Psalm 36:5 (CEV)

As you read in Mia’s Miracle entry, God has been incredibly faithful to my family. That’s because He specializes in taking the darkest clouds in our lives and then He gently filters His light through every aspect of them to dispel the darkness and fulfill His purposes! What man intended to be the destruction of Joseph, God intended to save an entire nation. When cancer threatened my granddaughter, God had a plan to show my family just how important it is to get God’s Word to thousands of children – not just Mia.

It is no wonder that two years after Mia’s illness, when the Canadian Bible Society approached my husband and me to create something that would be Bible engagement for kids, we accepted the challenge wholeheartedly. We had already seen first-hand what the Scriptures could do in the life of a child, and we were eager to create something where other children could be influenced by God’s Word.

Because they are passionate about getting God’s Word to the next generation, CBS initiated the online world of YAHERO – where more than 6,000 children have already visited as virtual Bible explorers. To date, more than two million dollars have been invested into this project and for two years we have worked alongside a team to create this world where kids can play safely online and become engaged with the Bible in a format they already love and understand. Let’s face it – we parents are the digital immigrants – children are naturals in this online environment and so there needs to be a Christian alternative.

YAHERO www.yahero.com is reproducing the truths that God wants established firmly in children’s hearts and we’re using Scripture to do it! We know from our own experiences that children are alive spiritually, humble, sensitive, teachable, trusting and naturally faith-filled.

My husband Dale and I feel blessed to have been used by God to create the first Bible-based online virtual world for kids. God has an amazing way of weaving the paths of his children together to accomplish His purposes on the earth and we are thrilled to be partnering with ministries and organizations like The Canadian Bible Society, the PAOC, Faith at Home, Winning Kids, FaithLife Financial, the Assemblies of God, Tyndale House Publishers and others to get God’s Word to kids.

Here are some things that you can do to help YAHERO:

  • Check it out and share it with all the kids in your life www.yahero.com visit the resource section to see our videos etc.
  • Write to info@yahero.com to request Free Trial Scratch Cards for your friends and your church
  • Pray for all of the current Yaheroes and all those that are still to come – that they will become engaged with God’s Word while having incredible fun
  • Pray for the YAHERO team that God will give us creativity to create exciting quests and games for kids and that He will bless the work of our hands
  • Check out the ministry and awesome resources from Mark and Maria Holmen www.faithathome.com who are passionate about sharing YAHERO and the principles of Deuteronomy 6 with families

“These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.” Deuteronomy 6:6-9 (NIV)

In closing, let me share a sweet moment with you…

As you begin to know me better, you will see that my journey has not always been gentle. But you will also see clearly that I have never walked alone. The creator of the universe, the King of Kings, the Lord of Lords, the One who is mighty to save has been with me every step of the way – dispelling clouds and uncovering silver linings.

A few nights ago I heard a little voice calling from downstairs, “Mam-ma, Mam-ma (rhymes with Grandma), will you come and lie down with me – Olivia’s sleeping and I need you.” (My daughter and her family are living with us for six months until their house is built) I peeked my head into the room and gently pulled back the covers, crawled in and wrapped my arms around darling Mia – our little miracle. I told her how precious she is and how much Jesus and Mam-ma love her. I told her that God has such a wonderful plan for her life and then together we thanked Him for making her “all better”. I rubbed her back and I prayed that every cell in her body would flourish with health forever and then she asked me to quote her “hospital” Psalm, which is 121, and so we said it together. Then, as if remembering the nights when we snuggled on a cot in a hospital room, she asked me to sing the “Mam-ma song” a fun little ditty that I made up:) As I sang, she snuggled in as close as she could get and peacefully drifted off to sleep – and once again I was enveloped by the silver lining!

One response to “Mia’s Miracle Part 2 – A Silver Lining!

  • lynn hall

    Oh, Marti…so sweet. Our God is so amazing. I keep remebering Mia wanted to listen to the man…God’s word. Very good…I love what you write.xo

Leave a Reply

