The Nudge To Opportunity

You know the drill. We get up at 6 a.m. throw some make-up on, make breakfast and lunches, grab a travel mug of coffee and hit the road for the drive to school. When the car door shuts, we wave to the kids and exhale – knowing we’ve made it through the first leg of the day.

Now…the drive to work is heavenly – literally. In my car, the next 30 minutes are God’s and mine. We talk, I sing at the top of my lungs and I ask Him what He’s got planned for my day and what He’s doing with my life. Yes, sometimes I admit to wondering if He knows…

Isn’t that a ridiculous thought – wondering if our all-knowing God knows what He’s doing with my life? I think it’s more about, “Lord, can you really use me to accomplish your purposes here?” I can’t see past the next corner, are you sure you want to use me? Then, just as uncertainty whispers that maybe He should use someone else, His spirit wells up inside of me and I am empowered to act. Now instead of questioning, I’m racing toward the next big bend – anticipating an opportunity and praising Him in the process.

This blog is one of those opportunities for me. I have always thought I would like to share my ponderings but then uncertainty whispered, “Who cares what you think Marta and what makes you think that others would want to read your prattle? (Now there’s a word you don’t hear very much:)

But not long after this little conversation, God nudged me to take the first step and this is what I felt He was saying, “Marta I don’t need you to write so that I get more glory. I need you to write so that you can see me more clearly. Don’t worry if people read it or not – this is another way for you to see me at work in every area of your life and you need to declare with your hands the mighty works of my hands – because clearly I am here. As you have sought me, I have drawn near and I will draw nearer still.” Wow… after words like that, who could ever wonder if God knows what He’s doing with their life.

You should know, that I am in the midst of really trusting Him for some pretty big miracles this month and that uncertainty has literally been pounding on my door. But because of His promises and His tenderness toward me I press on relentlessly – anticipating that He’s at work and that the opportunities will come – not because I’m perfect but because I’m perfectly loved!

What about you? Are you wondering what God is doing with your life? Start watching for opportunities and when they knock on your door and you feel the sudden nudge of His Spirit welling up inside of you – just go for it! In our obedience to pursue the God-given opportunities, He will accomplish His purposes through us!

“The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”  Deuteronomy 31:8

“You have made known to me the path of life. You will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.” Psalm 16:11

Leave a Reply

